RTOC Deposes Five Priests Over Cyprianism

On January 26th (OS) / February 8th (NS) to January 28th (OS) / February 8th (NS), the RTOC Synod held a regular Synodal meeting. At the meeting it was voted to depose five RTOC priests of the Omsk diocese. The five clergy had ceased commemoration of Archbishop Tikhon of Omsk (the president of the RTOC Bishops’ Synod) due to their belief in Cyprianism, and the rejection of this doctrinal position by Archbishop Tikhon and the RTOC Synod.

The controversial position of the five clergy was maintaining that the “Official” Patriarchates still had the Grace of the Sacraments and were part of the Church. This view has generally been censured in True Orthodoxy.